Course and ePortfolio Access Instructions for SPO Managers
Margarita Berezyanskaya
Last Update 2 luni în urmă
Opening a Course
As an SPO Manager, you can access courses and learner ePortfolios on Avenue associated with your organization. This article includes information on logging in, navigating to a course, and enrolling (and unenrolling) an Instructor (non-editing) in an Avenue course. Please contact your mentor or send an email to [email protected] to request SPO Manager access to Avenue.
Logging In
To log in to Avenue and access your teachers' courses, follow these instructions. Refer to the email you received with your login credentials.
1. Go to https://avenue.ca
2. Click the Login link in the top right corner or the Login to Avenue button.

3. Enter your email address and password.
4. Click on the Log In button.

The Avenue portal page appears.
5. Click the Classroom button to go to the Moodle learning management system (LMS).

The LMS Dashboard appears.
Setting Up a Course Categories Text Block
1. On the Dashboard, create a new Text block with a link to the Course Categories.
Turn Edit mode on.

Note that the Edit mode toggle moves to the right and changes colour.
2. Click on the Add a block link in the Blocks drawer on the right side of the Dashboard.

Alternatively, you can click on the Add a block link above Recently accessed courses.

3. Choose the Text block.

4. Type "Course Categories" in the Text block title field and in the Content text area. Highlight the text with your cursor, then click on the Link button in the toolbar.

5. Copy and paste the following URL into the Enter a URL field: https://avenue.ca/classroom/course/index.php
You can choose to open the link in a new window, then click the Create link button.

6. The text is linked. Click the Save changes button.

7. On the Dashboard, click on the new link.

Entering a Course

2. Choose your province.

3. Find and select your SPO, using View More if necessary.

4. Select your SPO.
Note: At this point, you can copy the URL for your SPO category page and replace the link in Step 5 in the Course Categories Text Block above.

5. Find the course you want to access, or use the Search courses search box. Click on the Go to course button.

You can now see everything in the course and access various reports. More information about accessing the reports is available in Avenue Reporting for Service Provider Administrators.
Note: You can also access the course using a hyperlink. Ask the course instructor to send you a link to the course. This link can be used for more direct access to a course.
ePortfolio Access
You must be enrolled in a course as a Teacher or an Instructor (non-editing) to access learner ePortfolios. The next section explains how to enroll someone as an Instructor (non-editing), including yourself, in an Avenue course using the Course Participants page.
For instructions on viewing artifacts in the ePortfolio, please refer to the following articles:
Enrolling an Instructor (Non-Editing) in a Course
Follow these steps to enroll yourself (or someone else with an Avenue account) as an Instructor (non-editing) in an Avenue course.
1. In the Course Navigation Menu, choose Participants.

2. On the Participants page, choose Enrol users.

The Enrolment options panel appears.
3. Type the person's name or email address in the text box and click on the name in the drop-down list that appears while typing.

After selecting a user, their name will appear in a label next to Select users.
4. Choose Instructor (non-editing) from the Assign role drop-down list.

5. Click the Enrol users button.

The individual is now enrolled in the course. A label will appear briefly near the top of the Participants page confirming that the user has been enrolled in the course.
Unenrolling a Course Participant
If you only need temporary access to a course and learner ePortfolios, you can unenrol yourself from the course by following these steps.
1. Return to the course and choose Participants in the Course Navigation Menu.

2. Click the Unenrol icon next to the participant to be unenrolled.

The Unenrol panel appears.
3. Click the Unenrol button to confirm the user will be unenrolled.

The user has been unenrolled and no longer appears on the course Participants page.
